LIST: most anticipated 2020 releases (pt. 1)


2019 was such an amazing year for books, but somehow 2020 is looking even better. Here are some of my most anticipated releases for the first half of 2020!

I also listed all of the representation that I could find, but please feel free to correct me if I’m wrong or if I forgot something. Also, if you like this post and want to support me further, my Ko-fi link is at the bottom of this post!

underlined = debut
bolded = most anticipated
*** = have the ARC / read and will be reviewed
(books that are not young adult are marked as such)

TABLE OF CONTENTS:

January
February
March
April
May
June

JANUARY
january
BOOK:RELEASE DATE:REPRESENTATION:
Woven in Moonlight by Isabel Ibañez
(read my review here) ***
January 7 ownvoices Bolivian-inspired world and characters
A Heart so Fierce and Broken (Cursebreakers #2) by Brigid Kemmerer
(read my review here) ***
January 7gay side characters
Scavenge the Stars by Tara SimJanuary 7ownvoices Indian protagonist, bisexual protagonist, asexual side character
We Used to Be Friends by Amy Spalding
(read my review here) ***
January 7ownvoices bisexual protagonist, lesbian love interest
Loveboat, Taipei by Abigail Hing Wen
(read my review here) ***
January 7ownvoices Chinese-American protagonist and main characters; set in Taipei
Echoes Between Us by Katie McGarryJanuary 14
Dark and Deepest Red by Anna-Marie McLemoreJanuary 14ownvoices queer Latinx characters
Lucky Caller by Emma Mills
(read my review here) ***
January 14
Race to the Sun by Rebecca Roanhorse
(middle grade)
January 14ownvoices Navajo characters
Headliners (London Celebrities #5) by Lucy Parker
(adult) ***
January 20Black protagonist
Spellhacker by M.K. England
(read my review here) ***
January 21ownvoices queer protagonist, non-binary side character/love interest, bisexual side character
The Hand on the Wall (Truly Devious #3) by Maureen Johnson
(read my review here) ***
January 21non-binary side character, f/nb side romance
Tweet Cute by Emma Lord
(read my review here) ***
January 21gay side character
Rogue Princess by B.R. MyersJanuary 21
This Vicious Cure (This Mortal Coil #3) by Emily SuvadaJanuary 21
The Iron Will of Genie Lo (The Epic Crush of Genie Lo #2) by F.C. Yee
(read my review here) ***
January 21ownvoices Chinese-American protagonist and main characters
Seven Deadly Shadows by Courtney Alameda and Valynne E. MaetaniJanuary 28ownvoices Japanese protagonist and characters
A Castle in the Clouds by Kerstin GierJanuary 28
Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne
(adult)
(read my review here)***
January 28
FEBRUARY
february
BOOK:RELEASE DATE:REPRESENTATION:
The King of Crows (The Diviners #4) by Libba BrayFebruary 4Black protagonist and main character, asexual Chinese-American protagonist, Jewish-American protagonist
Foul is Fair by Hannah Capin
(read my review here) ***
February 4biracial (Indian, white) protagonist, trans girl side character, Korean-American side character, wlw side character
The Stars We Steal by Alexa DonneFebruary 4demisexual protagonist, lesbian side character, gay side character
All the Stars and Teeth by Adalyn Grace ***
(read my review here)
February 4wlw side character
The Worst Best Man by Mia Sosa
(adult)
(read my review here) ***
February 4ownvoices Afro-Brazilian protagonist and side characters
Storm from the East (Glass Alliance #2) by Joanna Hathaway
(read my review here) ***
February 11biracial protagonist, brown-coded side character, gay side character
The Unspoken Name by A.K. Larkwood
(adult)
(read my review here) ***
February 11lesbian main characters, gay main character, bisexual side character
Ink in the Blood by Kim Smejkal
(read my review here) ***
February 11wlw protagonist, non-binary and trans characters, f/f, m/m
This Train Is Being Held by Ismée Amiel Williams
(read my review here) ***
February 11biracial (ownvoices Cuban, white) protagonist, Dominican-American protagonist and side characters
Glitch Kingdom by Sheena BoekwegFebruary 18Black main character with muscular dystrophy
The Upside of Falling by Alex LightFebruary 18
Of Curses and Kisses by Sandhya Menon ***February 18ownvoices Indian protagonist and main character
The Shadows Between Us by Tricia Levenseller ***February 25
We Unleash the Merciless Storm (We Set the Dark on Fire #2) by Tehlor Kay MejiaFebruary 25ownvoices Latinx characters
Rebelwing by Andrea TangFebruary 25ownvoices Chinese protagonist and characters
MARCH
march
BOOK:RELEASE DATE:REPRESENTATION:
The Winter Duke by Claire Eliza Bartlett
(read my review here) ***
March 3wlw protagonist and love interest
Winterborne Home for Vengeance and Valor by Ally Carter
(middle grade)
March 3
Wicked As You Wish by Rin Chupeco
(read my review here) ***
March 3ownvoices Filipino protagonists and characters, gay protagonist
Chain of Gold by Cassandra ClareMarch 3biracial (Persian, white) protagonist
Only Mostly Devastated by Sophie Gonzales
(read my review here) ***
March 3gay protagonist, gay Venezuelan-American love interest, bisexual side character, plus-sized Black side character with PCOS
The Kingdom of Back by Marie LuMarch 3
We Are Blood and Thunder by Kesia LupoMarch 3
The Midnight Lie by Marie Rutkoski
(read my review here) ***
March 3ownvoices wlw protagonist, lesbian side character/love interest
Crown of Bones by A.K. WilderMarch 3
Harley in the Sky by Akemi Dawn Bowman
(read my review here) ***
March 10ownvoices multiracial (Japanese, Irish, Chinese, Italian) protagonist with depression, side character/love interest with anxiety
The Honey-Don’t List by Christina Lauren
(adult)
March 10
Yours in Scandal by Lauren Layne
(adult) ***
March 10
Bone Crier’s Moon by Kathryn Purdie
(read my review here) ***
March 10
The Electric Heir (Feverwake #2) by Victoria Lee
(read my review here) ***
March 17bisexual Jewish-Colombian protagonist, gay protagonist, lesbian side characters
All Your Twisted Secrets by Diana UrbanMarch 17
If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane
(adult)
March 24biracial (Black, white) protagonist, mlm Sikh side character
The Empress of Salt and Fortune by Nghi Vo
(adult)
(read my review here) ***
March 24ownvoices Vietnamese-inspired world and characters
Look by Zan RomanoffMarch 31bisexual protagonist
APRIL
april
BOOK:RELEASE DATE:REPRESENTATION:
Aru Shah and the Tree of Wishes (Pandava Quartet #3) by Roshani Chokshi
(middle grade)
April 7ownvoices Indian-American protagonist and main characters, ownvoices biracial (Indian, Filipina) main character
You Deserve Each Other by Sarah Hogle
(adult)
April 7
What I Like About You by Marisa Kanter
(read my review here) ***
April 7Jewish-American protagonist, questioning Jewish-American side character, one-fourth Korean Jewish-American side character/love interest, Jewish-American side characters
It Sounded Better in My Head by Nina KenwoodApril 7
The Lucky Ones by Liz Lawson
(read my review here) ***
April 7
The Best Laid Plans by Cameron LundApril 7
The Perfect Escape by Suzanne Park
(read my review here) ***
April 7ownvoices Korean-American protagonist
Meet Me At Midnight by Jessica Pennington
(read my review here) ***
April 7
Verona Comics by Jennifer Dugan ***
(read my review here)
April 21bisexual/pansexual protagonist, bisexual protagonist with anxiety, lesbian Black side character, bisexual side character, gay Latinx side character
The Silence of Bones by June HurApril 21ownvoices Korean setting and characters
Late to the Party by Kelly Quindlen ***
(read my review here)
April 21lesbian protagonist, gay side character, bisexual Panamanian side character, gay black side character
Girl Gone Viral (Modern Love #2) by Alisha Rai
(adult)
(read my review here) ***
April 21ownvoices Indian-American (Punjabi) protagonist with PTSD, biracial (Thai, white) protagonist with panic disorder and PTSD, Black side character, Pakistani-American side character, gay side character
Time of Our Lives by Emily Wibberley and Austin Siegemund-Broka
(read my review here) ***
April 21biracial (Mexican, white) protagonist and side characters, adopted Indian-American side character
Incendiary by Zoraida CórdovaApril 28ownvoices Latinx–inspired world and characters
Don’t Call the Wolf by Aleksandra RossApril 28
MAY
may
BOOK:RELEASE DATE:REPRESENTATION:
The Life and (Medieval) Times of Kit Sweetly by Jamie Pacton
(read my review here) ***
May 5biracial (Indian, Russian) love interest, bisexual Black side character, nonbinary side character, trans girl side character
The Mermaid, the Witch, and the Sea by Maggie Tokuda-Hall
(read my review here) ***
May 5Black genderfluid protagonist, ownvoices queer Japanese-coded protagonist, f/nb ship
The Henna Wars by Adiba Jaigirdar
(read my review here) ***
May 12lesbian Bengali protagonist, bisexual biracial (Afro-Brazilian, Irish) love interest
By the Book: A Novel of Prose and Cons by Amanda Sellet
(read my review here) ***
May 12wlw side characters
Beach Read by Emily Henry (adult)
(read my review here) ***
May 19lesbian side characters
Just a Boy and a Girl in a Little Canoe (I See London, I See France #2) by Sarah MlynowskiMay 19
Something to Talk About by Meryl Wilsner (adult) ***May 26ownvoices wlw protagonist and love interest
Parachutes by Kelly YangMay 26ownvoices Chinese protagonists
JUNE
june
BOOK:RELEASE DATE:REPRESENTATION:
The Dark Tide by Alicia JasinskaJune 2wlw protagonist and love interest
Kissing Lessons by Sophie JordanJune 2
The Good for Nothings by Danielle BanasJune 9
The Falling in Love Montage by Ciara Smyth ***
(read my review here)
June 9lesbian protagonist and love interest
All the Things We Never Knew by Liara Tamani ***June 9ownvoices Black protagonist and love interest
You Say It First by Katie CotugnoJune 16
I’ll Be the One by Lyra Lee ***
(read my review here)
June 16plus-sized bisexual Korean-American protagonist, ownvoices bisexual Korean love interest, lesbian side characters
Hunted by the Sky by Tanaz Bhathena
(read my review here) ***
June 23ownvoices Indian-inspired world and characters
The Order of the Pure Moon Reflected in Water by Zen Cho
(adult) ***
(read my review here)
June 23ownvoices Chinese-inspired world and characters, nonbinary main character, gay side characters
Forest of Souls by Lori M. LeeJune 23ownvoices east-Asian-coded protagonist
Goddess in the Machine by Lora Beth Johnson
(read my review here) ***
June 30biracial (Southeast Asian-Chinese, white) protagonist

3 thoughts on “LIST: most anticipated 2020 releases (pt. 1)”

Leave a comment