REVIEW: The Lucky Ones by Liz Lawson

**I received an ARC from Netgalley. These are my honest opinions, and in way was I compensated for this review.**


the lucky ones cover

Book: The Lucky Ones by Liz Lawson

Release Date: April 7, 2020

My Rating: 4.25 stars

Rep: bisexual Haitian-American side character, wlw side character

Summary: For fans of Thirteen Reasons Why, This Is How It Ends, and All the Bright Places, comes a new novel about life after. How do you put yourself back together when it seems like you’ve lost it all?

May is a survivor. But she doesn’t feel like one. She feels angry. And lost. And alone. Eleven months after the school shooting that killed her twin brother, May still doesn’t know why she was the only one to walk out of the band room that day. No one gets what she went through–no one saw and heard what she did. No one can possibly understand how it feels to be her.

Zach lost his old life when his mother decided to defend the shooter. His girlfriend dumped him, his friends bailed, and now he spends his time hanging out with his little sister…and the one faithful friend who stuck around. His best friend is needy and demanding, but he won’t let Zach disappear into himself. Which is how Zach ends up at band practice that night. The same night May goes with her best friend to audition for a new band.

Which is how May meets Zach. And how Zach meets May. And how both might figure out that surviving could be an option after all.

Continue reading “REVIEW: The Lucky Ones by Liz Lawson”

REVIEW: What I Like About You by Marisa Kanter

**I received an ARC from Netgalley. These are my honest opinions, and in no way was I compensated for this review.**


what i like about you cover

Book: What I Like About You by Marisa Kanter

Release Date: April 7, 2020

My Rating: 3.5 stars

Rep: Jewish-American protagonist, questioning Jewish-American side character, one-fourth Korean Jewish-American side character/love interest, Jewish-American side characters

Summary: Can a love triangle have only two people in it? Online, it can…but in the real world, it’s more complicated. In this debut novel that’s perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Morgan Matson, Marisa Kanter hilariously and poignantly explores what happens when internet friends turn into IRL crushes.

There are a million things that Halle Levitt likes about her online best friend, Nash.

He’s an incredibly talented graphic novelist. He loves books almost as much as she does. And she never has to deal with the awkwardness of seeing him in real life. They can talk about anything…

Except who she really is.

Because online, Halle isn’t Halle—she’s Kels, the enigmatically cool creator of One True Pastry, a YA book blog that pairs epic custom cupcakes with covers and reviews. Kels has everything Halle doesn’t: friends, a growing platform, tons of confidence, and Nash.

That is, until Halle arrives to spend senior year in Gramps’s small town and finds herself face-to-face with real, human, not-behind-a-screen Nash. Nash, who is somehow everywhere she goes—in her classes, at the bakery, even at synagogue.

Nash who has no idea she’s actually Kels.

If Halle tells him who she is, it will ruin the non-awkward magic of their digital friendship. Not telling him though, means it can never be anything more. Because while she starts to fall for Nash as Halle…he’s in love with Kels.

Continue reading “REVIEW: What I Like About You by Marisa Kanter”

LIST: pick an emoji and i'll rec you a 2020 release (pt. 2)

It’s time for the next round of pick an emoji and I’ll recommend you a 2020 release!

This is the second of four posts (find part one here). Therefore, this post only includes April through June 2020 releases. Each emoji is fairly un-spoilery; I mostly based it on the covers honestly.

Click on an emoji book for a book recommendation! Most of these are stand-alones or the beginning to a series; somehow I managed to pick a lot of debuts, which is great because I love supporting new authors!

Continue reading “LIST: pick an emoji and i'll rec you a 2020 release (pt. 2)”

MINI-REVIEW: The Perfect Escape by Suzanne Park

**I received an ARC from Netgalley. These are my honest opinions, and in no way was I compensated for this review.**


the perfect escape cover

Book: The Perfect Escape by Suzanne Park

Release Date: April 7, 2020

My Rating: 3.25 stars

Rep: ownvoices Korean-American protagonist

Summary: Love is a battlefield in this hysterical debut, perfect for fans of Jenny Han.

Nate Jae-Woo Kim wants to be rich. When one of his classmates offers Nate a ridiculous amount of money to commit grade fraud, he knows that taking the windfall would help support his prideful Korean family, but is compromising his integrity worth it?

Luck comes in the form of Kate Anderson, Nate’s colleague at the zombie-themed escape room where he works. She approaches Nate with a plan: a local tech company is hosting a weekend-long survivalist competition with a huge cash prize. It could solve all of Nate’s problems, and Kate needs the money too.

If the two of them team up, Nate has a true shot at winning the grand prize. But the real challenge? Making through the weekend with his heart intact…

Continue reading “MINI-REVIEW: The Perfect Escape by Suzanne Park”

MINI-REVIEW: Meet Me at Midnight by Jessica Pennington

**I received an ARC from Netgalley. These are my honest opinions, and in no way was I compensated for this review.**


meet me at midnight cover

Book: Meet Me at Midnight by Jessica Pennington

Release Date: April 7, 2020

My Rating: 3.5 stars

Summary: They have a love-hate relationship with summer.

Sidney and Asher should have clicked. Two star swimmers forced to spend their summers on a lake together sounds like the perfect match. But it’s the same every year—in between cookouts and boat rides and family-imposed bonfires, Sidney and Asher spend the dog days of summer finding the ultimate ways to prank each other. And now, after their senior year, they’re determined to make it the most epic summer yet.

But their plans are thrown in sudden jeopardy when their feud causes their families to be kicked out of their beloved lake houses. Once in their new accommodations, Sidney expects the prank war to continue as usual. But then she gets a note—Meet me at midnight. And Asher has a proposition for her: join forces for one last summer of epic pranks, against a shared enemy—the woman who kicked them out.

Their truce should make things simpler, but six years of tormenting one another isn’t so easy to ignore. Kind of like the undeniable attraction growing between them.

Continue reading “MINI-REVIEW: Meet Me at Midnight by Jessica Pennington”

MINI-REVIEW: The Empress of Salt and Fortune by Nghi Vo

**I received an eARC from the publisher (thank you, Tor.com!). These are my honest opinions, and in no way was I compensated for this review.**


the empress of salt and fortune cover

Book: The Empress of Salt and Fortune by Nghi Vo

Release Date: March 24, 2020

My Rating: 4.25 stars

Rep: ownvoices Vietnamese-inspired world and characters, nonbinary protagonist, wlw main character

Summary: With the heart of an Atwood tale and the visuals of a classic Asian period drama, Nghi Vo’s The Empress of Salt and Fortune is a tightly and lushly written narrative about empire, storytelling, and the anger of women.

A young royal from the far north, is sent south for a political marriage in an empire reminiscent of imperial China. Her brothers are dead, her armies and their war mammoths long defeated and caged behind their borders. Alone and sometimes reviled, she must choose her allies carefully.

Rabbit, a handmaiden, sold by her parents to the palace for the lack of five baskets of dye, befriends the emperor’s lonely new wife and gets more than she bargained for.

At once feminist high fantasy and an indictment of monarchy, this evocative debut follows the rise of the empress In-yo, who has few resources and fewer friends. She’s a northern daughter in a mage-made summer exile, but she will bend history to her will and bring down her enemies, piece by piece.

Continue reading “MINI-REVIEW: The Empress of Salt and Fortune by Nghi Vo”

REVIEW: The Electric Heir by Victoria Lee

**I received an ARC from Netgalley. These are my honest opinions, and in no way was I compensated for this review.**


the electric heir cover

Book: The Electric Heir (Feverwake #2) by Victoria Lee

Release Date: March 17, 2020

My Rating: 4.25 stars

Rep: ownvoices bisexual Jewish Mexican protagonist, gay main character/love interest, gay main character, lesbian side characters

Summary: Six months after Noam Álvaro helped overthrow the despotic government of Carolinia, the Atlantians have gained citizenship, and Lehrer is chancellor. But despite Lehrer’s image as a progressive humanitarian leader, Noam has finally remembered the truth that Lehrer forced him to forget—that Lehrer is responsible for the deadly magic infection that ravaged Carolinia.

Now that Noam remembers the full extent of Lehrer’s crimes, he’s determined to use his influence with Lehrer to bring him down for good. If Lehrer realizes Noam has evaded his control—and that Noam is plotting against him—Noam’s dead. So he must keep playing the role of Lehrer’s protégé until he can steal enough vaccine to stop the virus.

Meanwhile Dara Shirazi returns to Carolinia, his magic stripped by the same vaccine that saved his life. But Dara’s attempts to ally himself with Noam prove that their methods for defeating Lehrer are violently misaligned. Dara fears Noam has only gotten himself more deeply entangled in Lehrer’s web. Sooner or later, playing double agent might cost Noam his life.

tw: sexual assault and child abuse, domestic violence, references to suicide, and depections of eating disorders and substance abuse

Continue reading “REVIEW: The Electric Heir by Victoria Lee”