MINI-REVIEW: The Roughest Draft by Emily Wibberley and Austin Siegemund-Broka

**I received an ARC from the publisher through Edelweiss. These are my honest opinions, and in no way was I compensated for this review.**


the roughest draft cover

Book: The Roughest Draft by Emily Wibberley and Austin Siegemund-Broka

Release Date: January 25, 2022

My Rating: 2 stars

Rep: Chinese-American side character

Summary: They were cowriting literary darlings until they hit a plot hole that turned their lives upside down.

Three years ago, Katrina Freeling and Nathan Van Huysen were the brightest literary stars on the horizon, their cowritten books topping bestseller lists. But on the heels of their greatest success, they ended their partnership on bad terms, for reasons neither would divulge to the public. They haven’t spoken since, and never planned to, except they have one final book due on contract.

Facing crossroads in their personal and professional lives, they’re forced to reunite. The last thing they ever thought they’d do again is hole up in the tiny Florida town where they wrote their previous book, trying to finish a new manuscript quickly and painlessly. Working through the reasons they’ve hated each other for the past three years isn’t easy, especially not while writing a romantic novel.

While passion and prose push them closer together in the Florida heat, Katrina and Nathan will learn that relationships, like writing, sometimes take a few rough drafts before they get it right.

Continue reading “MINI-REVIEW: The Roughest Draft by Emily Wibberley and Austin Siegemund-Broka”

REVIEW: Amelia Unabridged by Ashley Schumacher

**I received an ARC from the publisher through Netgalley. These are my honest opinions, and in no way was I compensated for this review.**


amelia unabridged cover

Book: Amelia Unabridged by Ashley Schumacher

Release Date: February 16, 2021

My Rating: 2 stars

CW: death of a friend due to a car crash, (click for a spoilery content warning) mentions of death of siblings (drowning)

Summary: Sparks fly between two teens as they grapple with grief, love, and the future in this unforgettable debut novel sure to entice fans of Jandy Nelson and Jennifer E. Smith

Eighteen-year-old Amelia Griffin is obsessed with the famous Orman Chronicles, written by the young and reclusive prodigy N. E. Endsley. They’re the books that brought her and her best friend Jenna together after Amelia’s father left and her family imploded. So when Amelia and Jenna get the opportunity to attend a book festival with Endsley in attendance, Amelia is ecstatic. It’s the perfect way to start off their last summer before college.

In a heartbeat, everything goes horribly wrong. When Jenna gets a chance to meet the author and Amelia doesn’t, the two have a blowout fight like they’ve never experienced. And before Amelia has a chance to mend things, Jenna is killed in a freak car accident. Grief-stricken, and without her best friend to guide her, Amelia questions everything she had planned for the future.

When a mysterious, rare edition of the Orman Chronicles arrives, Amelia is convinced that it somehow came from Jenna. Tracking the book to an obscure but enchanting bookstore in Michigan, Amelia is shocked to find herself face-to-face with the enigmatic and handsome N. E. Endsley himself, the reason for Amelia’s and Jenna’s fight and perhaps the clue to what Jenna wanted to tell her all along.

Ashley Schumacher’s devastating and beautiful debut, Amelia Unabridged, is about finding hope and strength within yourself, and maybe, just maybe, falling in love while you do it.

Continue reading “REVIEW: Amelia Unabridged by Ashley Schumacher”

REVIEW: Cast in Firelight by Dana Swift

**I received an eARC from the publisher through Netgalley. These are my honest opinions, and in no way was I compensated for this review.**


cast in firelight cover

Book: Cast in Firelight (Wickery #1) by Dana Swift

Release Date: January 19, 2020

My Rating: 2 stars

Rep: Indian-inspired world and characters

Summary: The first book in an epic, heart-pounding fantasy duology about two royal heirs betrothed to be married, but whose loyalties are torn, and a ruthless enemy who threatens their world, perfect for fans of Sabaa Tahir, Hafsah Faizal, and Renée Ahdieh.

Adraa is the royal heir of Belwar, a talented witch on the cusp of taking her royal ceremony test, and a girl who just wants to prove her worth to her people.

Jatin is the royal heir to Naupure, a competitive wizard who’s mastered all nine colors of magic, and a boy anxious to return home for the first time since he was a child.

Together, their arranged marriage will unite two of Wickery’s most powerful kingdoms. But after years of rivalry from afar, Adraa and Jatin only agree on one thing: their reunion will be anything but sweet.

Only, destiny has other plans and with the criminal underbelly of Belwar suddenly making a move for control, their paths cross…and neither realizes who the other is, adopting separate secret identities instead.

Between dodging deathly spells and keeping their true selves hidden, the pair must learn to put their trust in the other if either is to uncover the real threat. Now Wickery’s fate is in the hands of rivals..? Fiancées..? Partners..? Whatever they are, it’s complicated and bound for greatness or destruction.

Continue reading “REVIEW: Cast in Firelight by Dana Swift”

REVIEW: The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue by V.E. Schwab

**I received an eARC from the publisher through Netgalley. These are my honest opinions, and in no way was I compensated for this review.**


the invisible life of addie larue

Book: The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue by V.E. Schwab

Release Date: October 6, 2020

My Rating: 2 stars

Rep: wlw protagonist, pansexual protagonist, Black lesbian side character, gay side character

CW: suicidal thoughts, depression, recreational drug use and alcohol consumption

Summary: A Life No One Will Remember. A Story You Will Never Forget.

France, 1714: in a moment of desperation, a young woman makes a Faustian bargain to live forever and is cursed to be forgotten by everyone she meets.

Thus begins the extraordinary life of Addie LaRue, and a dazzling adventure that will play out across centuries and continents, across history and art, as a young woman learns how far she will go to leave her mark on the world.

But everything changes when, after nearly 300 years, Addie stumbles across a young man in a hidden bookstore and he remembers her name.

Continue reading “REVIEW: The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue by V.E. Schwab”

REVIEW: Serpent & Dove by Shelby Mahurin

**I borrowed an ARC from a friend. These are my honest opinions, and in no way was I compensated for this review.**


serpent & dove cover

Book: Serpent & Dove by Shelby Mahurin

Release Date: September 3, 2019

My Rating: 2 stars

Rep: bisexual side character

Summary: Bound as one to love, honor, or burn.

Two years ago, Louise le Blanc fled her coven and took shelter in the city of Cesarine, forsaking all magic and living off whatever she could steal. There, witches like Lou are hunted. They are feared. And they are burned.

Sworn to the Church as a Chasseur, Reid Diggory has lived his life by one principle: thou shalt not suffer a witch to live. His path was never meant to cross with Lou’s, but a wicked stunt forces them into an impossible union—holy matrimony.

The war between witches and Church is an ancient one, and Lou’s most dangerous enemies bring a fate worse than fire. Unable to ignore her growing feelings, yet powerless to change what she is, a choice must be made.

And love makes fools of us all.

Continue reading “REVIEW: Serpent & Dove by Shelby Mahurin”